Michael Dunlop


With just over 50 days to go until the start of the 2024 Isle of Man TT Races the first set of start numbers have been released, with Jackson Racing’s Paul Jordan taking the number 1 plate for the first time in the opening Monster Energy Supersport Race.

It’s the first time the Northern Irishman has had the honour of carrying the number 1 plate, and he’ll be looking to continue his progression in the middleweight class having joined the renowned Jackson Racing team for 2024.

Hot on his heels will be double and reigning Privateers’ champion, Jamie Coward, who moves up to number 2 having started from two places lower twelve months ago. And, despite lapping at close to 128mph and securing a pair of top five positions in the Supersport category last year, Coward and the KTS team have opted to make the switch from Yamaha to Triumph power for 2024.

The KTS team have opted to make the switch from Yamaha to Triumph power for 2024

Following Coward will be fellow Yorkshireman, Dean Harrison. The third fastest rider in the class, it’s the first time since 2018 that Harrison hasn’t started second on the road so he’ll be hoping that change, along with the headline move to Honda Racing UK, will help him repeat his Supersport success of 2018.

TT returnee and 7-time Supersport race winner, Ian Hutchinson, reunites with the Milenco by Padgett’s Motorcycles team and assumes his favoured number 4 slot. James Hillier, a 5-time podium finisher in the class, is another to reunite with a former team and starts ten seconds later.

However, all eyes will doubtless be on Michael Dunlop who starts from his usual number 6 slot. After a phenomenal four victories in 2023, the opening Supersport Race will be his first opportunity to draw level with Joey Dunlop and the record tally of 26 TT wins. With 11 wins in the class including the last four to be held, the class lap record holder will undoubtedly be favourite for top honours.

Josh Brookes is back on the Supersport entry for the first time since 2018 with the Boyce Precision Engineering by Russell Racing Yamaha and must be considered a threat from number 7. The same applies to the next starter, Davey Todd, who will provide a thunderous soundtrack to proceedings on the Powertoolmate Ducati Panigale V2.

Craig Neve’s strong performances of 2023 have been rewarded with his first ever top-10 position, with the Bathams Racing rider starting at number 9 on a Triumph 765 RS identical in spec to that of the rider starting ten seconds behind him – Peter Hickman.

Next to go at 11 and 12 will be Conor Cummins (Milenco by Padgett’s Motorcycles – Honda) and David Johnson (Platinum Club Racing – Kawasaki) with 2019 winner Lee Johnston reverting to his usual number 13 – the Ashcourt Racing rider another to switch to Triumph.

Mike Browne follows Johnston on the second Boyce Precision Engineering by Russell Racing Yamaha, with Rob Hodson (SMT Racing – Yamaha) and Dominic Herbertson (Burrows Engineering/RK Racing – Yamaha) next to go at numbers 15 and 16 respectively.

Former Supersport Race winner Gary Johnson (NL Motorcycle/Astro Van Centre – Suzuki) starts at number 17 with Shaun Anderson (Butterfields of Skipton – Suzuki), James Hind (North Lincs Components – Suzuki) and Manxman Michael Evans (Smith Racing – Triumph) completing the top twenty. All three riders are seeded once again with Hind, riding a Suzuki GSX-R750 prepared by fan favourite Guy Martin, one to watch having taken a sixth-place finish in 2023.

The complete top 20 for the two 4-lap Monster Energy Supersport Races at the 2024 Isle of Man TT Races is:

  1. Paul Jordan - Jackson Racing, Honda
  2. Jamie Coward - KTS Racing powered by Stanley Stewart Racing, Triumph
  3. Dean Harrison - Honda Racing UK, Honda
  4. Ian Hutchinson - Milenco by Padgett’s Motorcycles, Honda
  5. James Hillier - Bournemouth Kawasaki Racing, Kawasaki
  6. Michael Dunlop - MD Racing, Yamaha
  7. Josh Brookes - Boyce Precision Engineering by Russell Racing, Yamaha
  8. Davey Todd - Powertoolmate Ducati, Ducati
  9. Craig Neve - Bathams Racing, Triumph
  10. Peter Hickman - K2 Trooper Triumph by PHR, Triumph
  11. Conor Cummins - Milenco by Padgett’s Motorcycles, Honda
  12. David Johnson - TBC
  13. Lee Johnston - Ashcourt Racing, Triumph
  14. Mike Browne - Boyce Precision Engineering by Russell Racing, Yamaha
  15. Rob Hodson - SMT/Vehicle Recovery Services, Yamaha
  16. Dom Herbertson - Burrows Engineering by RK Racing, Yamaha
  17. Gary Johnson - 750, NL Motorcycles/Astro Van Centre, Suzuki
  18. Shaun Anderson - Butterfields of Skipton with ARD, Suzuki
  19. James Hind - North Lincs Components, Suzuki
  20. Michael Evans - Smith Racing, Triumph

You might also like